DBE

MAYOTTE, THE LAGOON ISLAND

DEEP BLUE EXPLORATION is based in Mayotte. Hot spot of biodiversity, this magnificent island has one of the largest and most beautiful lagoon in the world which remains largely unexplored today!

Carte_Mayotte
2018_09_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_6704_2_original

Mayotte is a small island with a very large lagoon in the Comoros archipelago. Its 1,500 km2 lagoon is delimited by a barrier reef 195 km long. These attributes give it one of the largest lagoons surrounding a high island. The coral reefs of Mayotte, but also those around the world, have been the subject of studies, research and monitoring for nearly 60 years. Even today, gray areas persist and prevent the scientific community from having a complete and global vision of the functioning of these ecosystems.


carte-morphopédo-latrille_(2)

PIONEERING EXPLORATIONS OF THE MAHORESE TWILIGHT

Eponge_sur_un_surplomb_à_75_m_de_profondeur._original_(1)
2018_10_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_9857_original
2019_08_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_9413_original

DEEP BLUE EXPLORATION is already:

310

Dives in the twilight zone

150

Hours of time background

612

Decompression hours


Since the first deep dives in 2017, DBE has been able to make original and unprecedented biological discoveries.

2018_06_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_3314_original
2018_11_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_0960_original
2019_11_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_3223_original
2019_04_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_2937_original
2020_03_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_3322_original
2019_10_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_1423_original
2019_02_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_2824_original
2019_07_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_6520_original
2019_02_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_2885_original
2019_11_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_3549_original
2019_11_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_3237_original
2020_03_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_3520_original
2020_03_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_3357_original
2018_12_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_1071_original
2019_07_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_8622_original
2019_02_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_3350_original
2019_05_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_5717_original
2018_11_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_0009_original

ACQUISITION OF NEW KNOWLEDGE

To date, Deep Blue Exploration has enabled the census of more than 250 species living in the mesophotic zone!

This is still only the beginning given the rich biodiversity of this environment. Among all the species recorded, some are new to Mayotte, others never recorded in the Indian Ocean and a few seem to be still unknown to science.

The number and importance of discoveries made by divers and scientists is not insignificant. They highlight, on the one hand, the lack of knowledge of the mesophotic environment, but also the gaps in what we thought we knew. DBE contributes to the redefinition of the geographical areas of many taxa but also to a better knowledge of their way of life and their habitat. Some species have been photographed in the mesophotic zone far from their ordinary near-surface habitat, as described in the scientific literature.

Extension of the depth gradient of several species.

Explorations carried out by DBE have established several depth records and / or new records for the southwestern Indian Ocean area for a wide range of reef species belonging to different groups. Some specimens of species that are however well known to science have been recorded far from their ordinary habitat.

These many discoveries made during deep dives between 70 and 150 meters below the surface highlight our lack of knowledge regarding the ecology of ECMs.

2019_02_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_2761_original

Geographical extension of the distribution areas of many species.

2018_11_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_9986_original
Picto

6

invertebrate species referenced as new to the Indian Ocean!

Picto_Mayotte

+ de 35

new species for the Mayotte region!



Crevette_picto

2

new species for science: a shrimp and a fish!


GOALS

Shéma_DBE

Man has always sought to explore his environment. This thirst for discovery is fueled by vital needs but also by the desire to understand and discover one's own universe. It is this last motivation which is at the origin of the Deep Blue Expedition project.

Exploration is of little value if it is not associated with science. This is why it is deeply rooted in the philosophy of Deep Blue Exploration. Each deep dive, each immersion is a new opportunity to contribute to the expansion of knowledge and understanding of the environment in question.

Ocean Art is the Awareness and Artistic section of DBE. Whether exposed to daylight or hidden in the semi-darkness of the mesophotic zone, Nature is inherently beautiful! One of the objectives of the association is to capture and restore the splendor of the depths as well as possible in order to educate the general public about the cause of the reefs.

DBE

MAYOTTE, L'ÎLE AU LAGON  

DEEP BLUE EXPLORATION est basé à Mayotte. Hot spot de biodiversité, cette magnifique île possède un des plus grands et beaux lagons du monde, qui reste encore de nos jours largement inexploré !

Carte_Mayotte
2018_09_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_6704_2_original

Mayotte est une petite île volcanique de l’archipel des Comores dotée d’un très large lagon. Ses 1500 km² de lagon sont délimités par une barrière récifale d’une longueur de 195 km. Ces attributs lui confèrent l’un des plus grands lagons entourant une île haute. Les récifs coralliens de Mayotte, mais aussi ceux du monde entier, font l’objet d’études, de recherches et de suivis depuis près de 60 ans. Cependant, de nos jours encore, des zones d’ombres persistent et empêchent la communauté scientifique d’avoir une vision complète et globale du fonctionnement de ces écosystèmes.


carte-morphopédo-latrille_(2)

DES EXPLORATIONS PIONNIÈRES DE LA CRÉPUSCULAIRE MAHORAISE

Eponge_sur_un_surplomb_à_75_m_de_profondeur._original_(1)
2018_10_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_9857_original
2019_08_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_9413_original

DEEP BLUE EXPLORATION c'est déjà :

310

Plongées dans la zone crépusculaire

150

Heures de temps fond

612

Heures de décompression


Depuis les premières plongées profondes en 2017, DBE a pu faire des découvertes biologiques originales et inédites.

2018_06_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_3314_original
2018_11_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_0960_original
2019_11_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_3223_original
2019_04_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_2937_original
2020_03_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_3322_original
2019_10_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_1423_original
2019_02_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_2824_original
2019_07_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_6520_original
2019_02_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_2885_original
2019_11_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_3549_original
2019_11_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_3237_original
2020_03_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_3520_original
2020_03_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_3357_original
2018_12_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_1071_original
2019_07_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_8622_original
2019_02_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_3350_original
2019_05_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_5717_original
2018_11_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_0009_original

ACQUISITION DE NOUVELLES CONNAISSANCES

A ce jour, Deep Blue Exploration a permis le recensement de plus de 250 espèces vivant dans la zone mésophotique !

Ce n’est encore qu’un début vu la richesse de la biodiversité de ce milieu. Parmi toutes les espèces recensées, certaines sont nouvelles pour Mayotte, d’autres jamais répertoriées dans l’Océan Indien et quelques-unes semblent être encore inconnues de la science.

Le nombre et l’importance des découvertes faites par les plongeurs et les scientifiques n’est pas anodin. Elles mettent en évidence, d’une part le manque de connaissance du milieu mésophotique, mais aussi les lacunes sur ce que nous pensions connaitre. DBE contribue à la redéfinition des aires géographiques de nombreux taxons mais aussi à une meilleure connaissance de leur mode de vie et de leur habitat. Certaines espèces ont été photographiées dans la zone mésophotique bien loin de leur habitat ordinaire proche de la surface, tel que décrit dans la bibliographie scientifique. Cela permet de lever le voile sur des dynamiques de migration ou de refuges totalement ignorées jusqu’à présent.

Extension du gradient de profondeur de plusieurs espèces.

Les explorations effectuées par DBE ont permis d’établir plusieurs records de profondeurs et/ou de nouvelles signalisations pour la zone du sud-ouest de l’Océan Indien pour un large éventail d’espèces récifales appartenant à différents groupes. Certains spécimens d’espèces pourtant bien connues de la science ont été répertoriés bien loin de leur habitat ordinaire.

Ces nombreuses découvertes réalisées lors des plongées profondes entre 70 et 150 mètres en dessous de la surface mettent en évidence notre méconnaissance concernant l’écologie des ECMs

2019_02_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_2761_original

Extension géographique des aires de répartition de nombreuses espèces.

2018_11_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_9986_original
Picto

6

espèces d’invertébrés référencées comme étant nouvelles pour l’Océan Indien !

Picto_Mayotte

+ de 35

nouvelles espèces pour la région de Mayotte !



Crevette_picto

2

nouvelles espèces pour la science : une crevette et un poisson !


LES OBJECTIFS

Shéma_DBE

De tout temps, l’Homme a sans cesse cherché à explorer son environnement. Cette soif de découverte est attisée par des besoins vitaux mais aussi par l’envie de comprendre et de découvrir son propre univers. C’est cette dernière motivation qui est à l’origine de projet Deep Blue Expédition

L’exploration n’a que peu d’intérêt si elle n’est pas associée à la science. C’est la raison pour laquelle celle-ci est profondément ancrée dans la philosophie de Deep Blue Exploration. Chaque plongée profonde, chaque immersion est une nouvelle opportunité de contribuer à l’extension de la connaissance et de la compréhension du milieu en question.

Ocean Art est la section Sensibilisation et Artistique de DBE. Qu’elle soit exposée à la lumière du jour ou bien cachée dans la pénombre de la zone mésophotique, la Nature est intrinsèquement magnifique ! L’un des objectifs de l’association est de capter et de restituer le mieux possible la splendeur des profondeurs afin de sensibiliser le grand public à la cause des récifs.