The Team

THE DBE CIRCLE

DBE is a multi-generational association made up of experienced rebreather divers and expert biologists in different fields, all passionate about the marine environment. This human diversity within the structure is an undeniable asset combining entrepreneurship, dynamism, experience and scientific rigor!

NATURALIST DIVERS

GABY BARATHIEU

Portrait

President of DEEP BLUE EXPLORATION, Class 3B diver, recognized underwater naturalist photographer (several prizes in naturalist photography competitions), for several years he has been moving towards deep diving and the exploration of deep environments. He tries through his photos to combine science and art, with the aim of sharing his immersions and raising awareness of the reefs treasures. The quality of his photos is currently being used by several taxonomists, with the aim of establishing biodiversity inventories of the Mahorese underwater fauna.

THE SCIENTISTS

Dr HÉLOÏSE ROUZÉ

héloise

Vice-president of DEEP BLUE EXPLORATION, Doctor in coral reef ecology, her work focuses on understanding the adaptation strategies of shallow and / or mesophotic corals in the face of climate change and human pressures, and this mainly through the dynamics and the functional interactions of the organisms constituting the complex “coral guild” system (coral + zooxanthellae symbiotic algae + bacteria + exosymbiotic crustaceans). More specifically, she is now focusing on better understanding the role of associated coral microbiomes (symbiotic algae + bacteria) in depth gradient adaptation. 

OLIVIER KONIECZNY 

Olivier_Konieczny

Diving instructor in Mayotte for 15 years, Class 3B diver and hypoxic trimix diver in a closed circuit rebreather. Diving supervisor, responsible for the organization and safety of all dives conducted as part of the activities of the Association. He is also responsible for the maintenance, production and analyzes of the various gases and mixtures required for deep diving. He is one of the founding members of the Association and he contributed to all the discoveries of the organization. He is also involved in data collection, biological sampling and underwater photography.

Pr THOMASSIN BERNARD ARMAND

BAT

Honorary CNRS research director of the Center d'Océanologie de Marseille (ex-COM) of the University of Aix-Marseille (AMU) and honorary president of DBE, scientific attaché of the city's Natural History Museum from Nice and a great connoisseur of the lagoon and coral reefs of Mayotte (since 1977-83), among others, and who had already explored these deep slopes down to -450 m deep, with a German mission from GEOMAR in Kiel , from the end of 1991. There is no doubt that he is "one of the least ignorant people" of the lagoon and reefs of Mayotte, as he defines himself.

CAMILLE LOISIL

Camille_loisil

An engineer by training and Class 3B diver, Camille discovered the world of diving in 2008 in the Mediterranean. In 2011, during a stay in New Caledonia, he discovered the closed circuit recycler with Patrick Plantard; he suddenly discovers the possibilities offered by this type of diving equipment. Amateur photographer, he decided in 2016 to switch to video in order to bring another dimension to the immersion returns. He also participated, as a sampling diver, in the AMAZON REEF expedition with GreenPeace in September 2019 off Guyana.

Pr PICHON MICHEL

Pichon_2

Oceanographer Biologist, University Professor, Officer in the Order of Academic Palms, Honorary Vice-President of DBE, is an expert in the field of coral reefs he has studied for over fifty years. He began his research career with pioneering work on the coral populations of the Grand Reef of Tulear, southwest of Madagascar.He was then the scientific manager of several research teams, having operated in most of the reef areas of Indo-Pacific, Red Sea, Indian Ocean (Mascarenes, Comoros, Maldives and seas surrounding Arabia) and Pacific Ocean He worked for more than 25 years in Australia, first Professor at James Cook University, in Townsville, then as Deputy Director of the Australian Institute of Marine Sciences, also in Townsville. In the last decade, he has extended his skills to the study of mesophotic coral environments and ecosystems, in association with teams from Australia, France, Israel and Japan. He has published over 160 scientific articles in international scientific journals. He is co-author, among others, of 7 volumes on the corals of the Great Barrier, Gulf of Aden, and Moorea (French Polynesia) as well as co-editor of 3 volumes on various aspects of the study of coral reefs. He was a member of the Council of the International Society for Coral Reefs, of the Scientific Council of the Oceanographic Institute (Fondation Albert Ier de Monaco), President of the French Association for Coral Reefs and is a member of the group of specialists "corals From the Species Survival Commission of the International Union for Conservation of Nature. He currently lives in Australia where he is a Research Associate at the Museum of Tropical Queensland and is a consultant in tropical marine environment.

PATRICK PLANTARD

Patrick

Closed Circuit Rebreather Instructor Trimix Hypoxic and Class 3B diver, Patrick began diving in 1977 at the age of 11, he has been certified since 1994. He first worked as a diving instructor on the island of Reunion then Rangiroa in French Polynesia. He became an advanced Trimix rebreather instructor in 2007, in Polynesia, where he began to organize explorations in the mesophotic zone until 2011, when he left to explore New Caledonia, still in this zone. Back in Reunion, he now explores the depths of the Indian Ocean. He is passionate about underwater fauna and practices photography, which is used to identify fish. He has to his credit some photos of very rare fish, from Polynesia, New Caledonia and Reunion. Particularly in Reunion Island, Apolemichthys guezei, which had only been photographed once in its natural environment in 1974.

Dr JOSPEH POUPIN

Joseph_Poupin

Doctorate in marine biology at the French Navy School. Research interests: Taxonomy of tropical crabs, hermit crabs and shrimps (Crustacea Decapoda), mainly those collected in the French overseas territories (French Polynesia, New Caledonia, Wallis and Futuna, Reunion, Mayotte, Guadeloupe , Martinique…). Regional inventories with photos are online in the CRUSTA database at Crusta.

Dr FRÉDÉRIC DUCARME 

Fréderic_Ducarme

Doctor in ecology and associate researcher at the National Museum of Natural History. Diver, photographer and naturalist, he is a taxonomic expert with the MNHN, the IUCN and the Scientific Council of the Mayotte Marine Park, as well as a former teacher in marine biology at the CUFR of Dembéni. His research focuses on echinoderms (sea urchins, stars, sea cucumbers, brittle stars and crinoids), and he is the author of the Mayotte echinoderm inventory.

Dr PATRICIA WECKER

PWecker_2

Doctor in marine microbiology, 2009 - Max Planck Institute for marine microbiology in Bremen, specializing in transcriptomic analysis and biotechnologies applied to the marine environment, she is also passionate about transmission, teaching, student support and within the reach of all scientific work. She carried out work within the CNRS in French Polynesia on bioplastics produced by marine bacteria. His research on the response of corals to heat stress as part of a Marie Curie Fellowship until 2015 led him to stop over in Australia and Monaco. Committed since the beginning of her studies in the popularization of science for primary and secondary students, and the general public, she has contributed to a wide dissemination of the work in the press or at conferences. She relies on the origin of this word "vulgus", the people, the crowd to defend the idea that the dissemination and dissemination of all the latest research results will have an impact on our future. She will use her skills. and her convictions in the service of the extension of the new Nausicaa, the national center of the sea of ​​Boulogne sur mer, and of its new permanent exhibition devoted to the high seas for 2 years. She will mainly devote herself to the writing of the contents for the The whole of her career and today allows her to be solicited as an expert assessor for the European Commission (RISE, Marie Curie).

L'équipe

Le Cercle dbe

DBE est une association multi-générationnelle composée de plongeurs recycleur expérimentés et de biologistes experts dans différents domaines, tous passionnés par le milieu marin. Cette diversité humaine au sein de la structure est un atout indéniable alliant entrepreneuriat, dynamisme, expérience et rigueur scientifique !

Plongeurs naturalistes

GABY BARATHIEU

Portrait

Président de DEEP BLUE EXPLORATION, plongeur classe 3B, photographe naturaliste sous-marin reconnu (plusieurs prix dans des concours de photographie internationaux), il s'oriente depuis plusieurs années vers la plongée profonde et l'exploration des milieux profonds. Il essaie à travers ses photos d'allier science et art, dans le but de partager ses immersions et de faire connaître les trésors des récifs coralliens. La qualité de ses photos est actuellement exploitée par plusieurs taxonomistes, dans le but d'établir des inventaires de biodiversité de la faune sous-marine mahoraise.

Les SCIENTIfiques

Dr HÉLOÏSE ROUZÉ

héloise

Vice-présidente de DEEP BLUE EXPLORATION, Docteur en écologie des récifs coralliens, ses travaux portent sur la compréhension des stratégies d'adaptation des coraux peu profonds et/ou mésophotiques face au changement climatique et aux pressions humaines, et ce principalement à travers la dynamique et les interactions fonctionnelles de les organismes constituant le système complexe « guilde des coraux » (corail + zooxanthelles algues symbiotiques + bactéries + crustacés exosymbiotiques). Plus précisément, elle se concentre désormais sur une meilleure compréhension du rôle des microbiomes coralliens associés (algues symbiotiques + bactéries) dans l'adaptation du gradient de profondeur.

OLIVIER KONIECZNY 

Olivier_Konieczny

Moniteur de plongée à Mayotte depuis 15 ans, plongeur classe 3B et plongeur trimix hypoxique en recycleur à circuit fermé. Superviseur de plongée, responsable de l'organisation et de la sécurité de toutes les plongées réalisées dans le cadre des activités de l'Association. Il est également responsable de la maintenance, de la production et des analyses des différents gaz et mélanges nécessaires à la plongée profonde. Il est l'un des membres fondateurs de l'Association et il a contribué à toutes les découvertes de l'organisation. Il est également impliqué dans la collecte de données, l'échantillonnage biologique et la photographie sous-marine.

Pr THOMASSIN BERNARD ARMAND

BAT

Directeur de recherche honoraire CNRS du Centre d'Océanologie de Marseille (ex-COM) de l'Université d'Aix-Marseille (AMU) et président d'honneur du DBE, attaché scientifique du Muséum d'histoire naturelle de la ville de Nice et grand connaisseur du lagon et les récifs coralliens de Mayotte (depuis 1977-83), entre autres, et qui avaient déjà exploré ces versants profonds jusqu'à -450 m de profondeur, avec une mission allemande de GEOMAR à Kiel, dès fin 1991. Nul doute que il est « un des peuples les moins ignorants » du lagon et des récifs de Mayotte, comme il se définit.

CAMILLE LOISIL

Camille_loisil

Ingénieur de formation et plongeur classe 3B, Camille découvre le monde de la plongée en 2008 en Méditerranée. En 2011, lors d'un séjour en Nouvelle-Calédonie, il découvre le recycleur en circuit fermé avec Patrick Plantard ; il découvre soudain les possibilités offertes par ce type d'équipement de plongée. Photographe amateur, il décide en 2016 de passer à la vidéo afin d'apporter une autre dimension aux retours d'immersion. Il a également participé, en tant que plongeur échantillonnage, à l'expédition AMAZON REEF avec GreenPeace en septembre 2019 au large de la Guyane.

Pr PICHON MICHEL

Pichon_2

Océanographe Biologiste, Professeur des Universités, Officier de l'Ordre des Palmes Académiques, Vice-Président d'Honneur du DBE, est un expert dans le domaine des récifs coralliens qu'il a étudié pendant plus de cinquante ans. Il a commencé sa carrière de chercheur par des travaux pionniers sur les populations coralliennes du Grand Récif de Tuléar, au sud-ouest de Madagascar. Océan Indien (Mascareignes, Comores, Maldives et mers entourant l'Arabie) et Océan Pacifique Il a travaillé pendant plus de 25 ans en Australie, d'abord professeur à l'université James Cook, à Townsville, puis comme directeur adjoint de l'Australian Institute of Marine Sciences, également à Townsville. Au cours de la dernière décennie, il a étendu ses compétences à l'étude des environnements et écosystèmes coralliens mésophotiques, en association avec des équipes d'Australie, de France, d'Israël et du Japon. Il a publié plus de 160 articles scientifiques dans des revues scientifiques internationales. Il est co-auteur, entre autres, de 7 volumes sur les coraux de la Grande Barrière, du Golfe d'Aden et de Moorea (Polynésie française) ainsi que co-éditeur de 3 volumes sur divers aspects de l'étude des récifs coralliens. Il a été membre du Conseil de la Société Internationale des Récifs Coralliens, du Conseil Scientifique de l'Institut Océanographique (Fondation Albert Ier de Monaco), Président de l'Association Française des Récifs Coralliens et est membre du groupe de spécialistes « coraux De la Commission pour la survie des espèces de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature. Il vit actuellement en Australie où il est chercheur associé au Museum of Tropical Queensland et consultant en environnement marin tropical.

PATRICK PLANTARD

Patrick

Instructeur de recycleur circuit fermé Trimix Hypoxic et plongeur de classe 3B, Patrick a commencé la plongée en 1977 à l'âge de 11 ans, il est certifié depuis 1994. Il a d'abord travaillé comme moniteur de plongée sur l'île de la Réunion puis à Rangiroa en Polynésie française. Il devient moniteur avancé recycleur Trimix en 2007, en Polynésie, où il commence à organiser des explorations dans la zone mésophotique jusqu'en 2011, date à laquelle il part explorer la Nouvelle-Calédonie, toujours dans cette zone. De retour à la Réunion, il explore désormais les profondeurs de l'océan Indien. Il est passionné par la faune sous-marine et pratique la photographie, qui sert à identifier les poissons. Il a à son actif quelques photos de poissons très rares, originaires de Polynésie, de Nouvelle-Calédonie et de la Réunion. Notamment à La Réunion, Apolemichthys guezei, qui n'avait été photographié qu'une seule fois dans son milieu naturel en 1974.

Dr JOSPEH POUPIN

Joseph_Poupin

Docteur en biologie marine à l'Ecole de la Marine Nationale. Intérêts de recherche : Taxonomie des crabes tropicaux, bernard-l'ermite et crevettes (Crustacea Decapoda), principalement ceux collectés dans les DOM-TOM (Polynésie française, Nouvelle-Calédonie, Wallis et Futuna, Réunion, Mayotte, Guadeloupe, Martinique…). Les inventaires régionaux avec photos sont en ligne dans la base de données CRUSTA à Crusta.

Dr FRÉDÉRIC DUCARME 

Fréderic_Ducarme

Docteur en écologie et chercheur associé au Muséum national d'histoire naturelle. Plongeur, photographe et naturaliste, il est expert taxonomique auprès du MNHN, de l'UICN et du Conseil scientifique du Parc marin de Mayotte, ainsi qu'ancien enseignant en biologie marine au CUFR de Dembéni. Ses recherches portent sur les échinodermes (oursins, étoiles, concombres de mer, ophiures et crinoïdes), et il est l'auteur de l'inventaire des échinodermes de Mayotte.

Dr PATRICIA WECKER

PWecker_2

Docteur en microbiologie marine, 2009 - Institut Max Planck de microbiologie marine de Brême, spécialisée dans l'analyse transcriptomique et les biotechnologies appliquées au milieu marin, elle est également passionnée par la transmission, l'enseignement, l'accompagnement des étudiants et à la portée de tous travaux scientifiques. Elle a mené des travaux au sein du CNRS en Polynésie française sur les bioplastiques produits par les bactéries marines. Ses recherches sur la réponse des coraux au stress thermique dans le cadre d'une bourse Marie Curie jusqu'en 2015 l'ont amené à faire escale en Australie et à Monaco. Engagé depuis le début de ses études dans la vulgarisation scientifique auprès des élèves du primaire et du secondaire, et du grand public, elle a contribué à une large diffusion des travaux dans la presse ou lors de conférences. Elle s'appuie sur l'origine de ce mot « vulgus », le peuple, la foule pour défendre l'idée que la diffusion et la diffusion de tous les derniers résultats de la recherche auront un impact sur notre avenir. Elle utilisera ses compétences. et ses convictions au service de l'extension du nouveau Nausicaa, le centre national de la mer de Boulogne sur mer, et de sa nouvelle exposition permanente consacrée à la haute mer depuis 2 ans. Elle se consacrera principalement à la rédaction des contenus pour l'ensemble de sa carrière et lui permet aujourd'hui d'être sollicitée en tant qu'experte pour la Commission européenne (RISE, Marie Curie).