Exploration

EXPLORATION

Man has always explored his environment. This thirst for discovery is fueled by vital needs but also by the desire to understand and discover one's own universe.


You might think that today only a few rare areas on our planet remain unexplored by humans. And yet, some circles still remain largely unknown and unexplored. You are probably thinking of the depths of the abyss, of the steepest ridges of the mountains, of the most remote corners of the poles?

In reality, these unexplored areas are much closer than you might think!

2017_10_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_4758_original

The TWILIGHT ZONE ?

Several tens of meters below the surface of the oceans, sunlight struggles to pierce the water column. Only a tiny fraction of the wavelengths of the light spectrum reach below 60 meters.

Panoramic_view_from_Twilight_Zone_-_La_cavitée_des_éponges_original

The pressure at this depth begins to be such that divers are forced to breathe special gas mixtures. This is the limit of recreational diving and only the beginning of what is called the TWILIGHT ZONE.

Slide_Twilight_Zone_Francais

MESOPHOTIC CORAL REEFS, ANOTHER WORLD!

The vision of the coral reef, associated with a wide variety of colorful organisms, living in clear, warm and shallow waters, is in fact only the tip of an iceberg, mainly from the surface at a depth of 30 m. . Diving beyond this limit into the unknown of mesophotic coral populations is much more than a simple immersion, it is above all a desire for exploration and discovery!

This quest is a journey into a virgin universe full of hidden colors and an oasis of unique, almost unexplored biodiversity. It is urgent to gain a better understanding and better knowledge of this ecosystem in order to understand the ecological challenges of its conservation.

2018_10_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_9238_original
2019_12_BARATHIEU_MAYOTTE_4369_original-2

Mesophotic Coral Ecosystems (ECMs), a liferaft?

ECMs have recently aroused growing scientific interest because they are considered as areas that could serve as a refuge and nursery for different animal and plant species living in shallow reefs, which are increasingly degraded due to human impacts and the effects of global changes.

ECMS, ECOSYSTEMS PRACTICALLY UNKNOWN TO DATE!

2018_04_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_0257_original

Only 1% of the mesophotic zone has been explored to date in Mayotte. 

Located deeper than directly threatened surface reefs, ECMs would seem to be less impacted by the effects of climate change (decrease in the rate of coral bleaching with depth) and various human pressures (pollution, overfishing). These areas could therefore represent a “liferaft” for certain shallow reefs.

However, the lack of knowledge and the few studies currently conducted on ECMs do not yet allow this hypothesis to be verified.

Answering this question is a crucial issue for the preservation and safeguarding of coral reefs all over the planet. This is one of the main motivations that drives and guides DBE's participatory science strategy and research!

Refuge_original

EXPLORE UNDERWATER CAVES

Underwater caves are numerous in the mesophotic zone of Mayotte. Their entrance being more than 70 meters deep, they are a vestige and a testament to the distant past of the island. They were formed several millennia ago, when the sea level was about 100 meters below the current level. It was with the onset of the Halocene, the current interglacial period, that they were swallowed up.

2018_12_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_1203_original
La_cavitée_des_éponges_2_original
Vue_panoramique_de_la_Cathédrale_original

L'exploration

l'EXPLORATION

L'homme a toujours exploré son environnement. Cette soif de découverte est alimentée par des besoins vitaux mais aussi par l'envie de comprendre et de découvrir son propre univers.

On pourrait penser qu'aujourd'hui, seules quelques rares zones de notre planète restent inexplorées par l'homme. Et pourtant, certaines zones restent encore largement méconnues et inexplorées. Vous pensez probablement aux profondeurs des abysses, aux crêtes les plus escarpées des montagnes, aux coins les plus reculés des pôles ?

En réalité, ces zones inexplorées sont bien plus proches que vous ne le pensez !

2017_10_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_4758_original

La zone crépusculaire ?

A plusieurs dizaines de mètres sous la surface des océans, la lumière du soleil peine à percer la colonne d'eau. Seule une infime fraction des longueurs d'onde du spectre lumineux atteint plus de 60 mètres.

Panoramic_view_from_Twilight_Zone_-_La_cavitée_des_éponges_original

La pression à cette profondeur commence à être telle que les plongeurs sont obligés de respirer des mélanges de gaz spéciaux. C'est la limite de la plongée récréative et seulement le début de ce qu'on appelle la ZONE CREPUSCULAIRE ou TWILIGHT ZONE.

Slide_Twilight_Zone_Francais

LES RÉCIFS DE CORAIL MÉSOPHOTIQUES, UN AUTRE MONDE !

La vision du récif corallien, associée à une grande variété d'organismes colorés, vivant dans des eaux claires, chaudes et peu profondes, n'est en fait que la pointe visible d'un iceberg, principalement depuis la surface à une profondeur de 30 m.  Plonger au-delà de cette limite dans l'inconnu des populations coralliennes mésophotiques est bien plus qu'une simple immersion, c'est avant tout une envie d'exploration et de découverte !

Cette quête est un voyage dans un univers vierge plein de couleurs cachées et une oasis de biodiversité unique, presque inexplorée. Il est urgent de mieux comprendre et mieux connaître cet écosystème afin de comprendre les enjeux écologiques de sa conservation.

2018_10_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_9238_original
2019_12_BARATHIEU_MAYOTTE_4369_original-2

Les écosystèmes coralliens mésophotiques (ECM), un radeau de sauvetage ?

Les ECM ont récemment suscité un intérêt scientifique croissant car ils sont considérés comme des zones pouvant servir de refuge et de nurserie pour différentes espèces animales et végétales vivant dans des récifs peu profonds, de plus en plus dégradés en raison des impacts humains et des effets des changements globaux.

Les ECMS, DES ÉCOSYSTÈMES PRATIQUEMENT INCONNUS À CE JOUR !

2018_04_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_0257_original

Seul 1% de la zone mésophotique a été exploré à ce jour à Mayotte.

Situées plus profond que les récifs de surface directement menacés, les ECM pourraient être moins impactés par les effets du changement climatique (diminution du taux de blanchissement des coraux avec la profondeur) et des diverses pressions humaines (pollution, surpêche, tourisme, ancrage). Ces zones pourraient donc représenter un « radeau de sauvetage » pour certaines espèces vivant normalement dans les récifs peu profonds.

Cependant, le manque de connaissances et les quelques études actuellement menées sur les MEC ne permettent pas encore de vérifier cette hypothèse.

Répondre à cette question est un enjeu crucial pour la préservation et la sauvegarde des récifs coralliens de la planète. C'est l'une des principales motivations qui anime et guide la stratégie et la recherche en sciences participatives de DBE !

Refuge_original

EXPLOREZ LES GROTTES SOUS-MARINES

Les grottes sous-marines sont nombreuses dans la zone mésophotique de Mayotte. Avec une entrée souvent située à plus de 70 mètres de profondeur, elles sont un vestige et un témoignage du passé lointain de l'île. Elles se sont formées il y a plusieurs millénaires, lorsque le niveau de la mer était à environ 100 mètres sous le niveau actuel. C'est avec le début de l'Holocène, l'actuelle période interglaciaire, qu'ils ont été engloutis.

2018_12_BARATHIEU_Mayotte_1203_original
La_cavitée_des_éponges_2_original
Vue_panoramique_de_la_Cathédrale_original